time to go!


i’m thankful for my time at Preston Ridge, but the time has come to go.  i have learned and loved much here.  God is leading me on an amazing journey and i’m excited to what He has for me.  my office is packed.  going to my garage for a bit, until the next leg of the relay get’s it’s handoff.  i want to say thanks to the band, A/V team,  vocalists, choir, children, and creative team, it was a blessing to partner with you in ministry.  Thanks to the staff and many friends that we have made over the last two years.   Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. said “Faith is taking the first step when you can’t see the rest of the staircase.

i love ancient modern worship and this benediction struck me, so i close today’s blog with this.

May God bless us with discomfort at easy answers, half-truths, and superficial relationships, so that we may live deep within our hearts.

May God bless us with anger at injustice, oppression, and exploitation of people, so that we may work for justice, freedom and peace.

May God bless us with tears to shed for those who suffer from pain, rejection, starvation and war, so that we may reach out our hands to comfort them and turn their pain into joy.

And may God bless us with enough foolishness to believe that we can make a difference in this world, so that we can do what others claim cannot be done.

Amen.

3 comments

  1. NO, NO, NO! YOU CAN’T GO!!!!!

    But since you are, I just wanted to say thanks. You are an amazing person and I am thankful that I met you. And your kindness did not go unnoticed. Thank you for befriending my little family – right from the beginning.

    !!

  2. you know, i realize what happened and why you had to leave and all. i just never did get to say bye. i was in the first service after which we were advised not to talk to you due to the emotional factor involved. by the time i was released from second service youth, however, you were already no where to be found. two weeks later (labor day weekend) i attended my grandfather’s church up in oklahoma. oddly enough, their youth minister read his letter of resignation on that day. the difference, though, was that he informed the crowd his last sunday would be the twenty-first, followed by a reception the next wedesday. why didn’t you do this? why didn’t you give the people that really liked you a chance to at least say bye before you up and left?
    chuck, let me tell ya – we all like kent nickel. but if anyone misses you the most, it has to be me. and i didn’t even have the opportunity so say that to your face.

  3. With so much going on this summer, I hadn’t been to church since the first Sunday in August. Unfortunately, today was my first return. To my dismay, I discovered that you are no longer a part of the PRBC staff. I came home and immediately got on the internet to see if I could find out what happened and if you are at another local church. My husband and I started attending PRBC about a year ago and haven’t joined. Our work schedules prevent us from attending every Sunday and we haven’t gotten close with any other couples in the church. I was, however; very pleased that my son attended VBS and was able to participate in service with you. He loves music as much as I do. Music is a huge influence in my life and quite frankly an influence on the church I attend. The first time we visited PRBC and I heard you sing, I knew that’s where I wanted to be. Granted, there are other things that are important factors to consider when choosing a church. But, for me, music is in the top 3. I am very concerned about how this void is going to be filled. In addition, without knowing your reason for leaving I am concerned that it is part of a change in the church that I am not aware of. I am rambling now.

    I hope that this is a good thing for you and your family. Please know that you will be greatly missed by people that you probably didn’t even know cared.

Leave a Reply

