one of my favorite apps on my iphone


is the YouVersion Bible from Lifechurch.tv

it has a daily read and a search function as well as many translations.  it’s nice to be able to look at a verse on my phone and automatically have translations and commentaries.  it’s like biblegateway mobile.

that being said, the other day the daily reading was from Micah 6 where verse 8 says

He has showed you, O man, what is good.
       And what does the LORD require of you?
       To act justly and to love mercy
       and to walk humbly with your God. NIV

i’ve heard that many times.  it’s in many songs and is a very familiar verse to many people.  so i just thought i would see what it said in some other translations and paraphrases,  just to get a different take on language and idea behind the verse.

this one spoke to me the most.

But he’s already made it plain how to live, what to do,
   what God is looking for in men and women.
It’s quite simple: Do what is fair and just to your neighbor,
   be compassionate and loyal in your love,
And don’t take yourself too seriously—
   take God seriously. MSG

as i read that it hit me, when i take myself too seriously, i’m not humble.  pride is taking ourselves too serious, like what we have to say or do is more important than other’s!  also that to act justly is to do what is fair and just and to love mercy is to be compassionate and loyal in my love to others.  that just opened that passage up for me. 

if it’s one thing i don’t want to be it is prideful.  i long for the greatness of humility in my life.  so as i look at the last 6 months and how often i’ve taken myself or been forced to take myself too seriously, it’s just that pride creeping back in.  oh God, take that away! let me be just, merciful, and humble like you want me to be.

facedown

One comment

Leave a Reply

