i was going through some old cds today…


when i ran across one of my favorite albums of all time.

now a lot of Jars of Clay fans will tell you that they should have stopped with their self-titled first album.  and critics and fans alike have dubbed “Good Monsters” their best work to date.  Some people like “Furthermore” and i must say one of my favorite Jar’s songs “The Valley Song” comes off of that album.

for me it has to be “If I Left the Zoo”

 

covbigzoo2

keep in mind that Jars of Clay had released two albums that sounded almost identical. they had created a signature sound.  their fans liked this sound…that being said most people i talked to hated this album…which made me like it all the more.

The Jar boys recreated themselves, it was fresh, new.  The sounds they got just blew me away.  we heard some really cool vintage electric sounds and real drums.  i was hooked, and not only by the melodies and arrangements.  the lyrics began to move in a different direction.  songs like “Hand”, “I’m Alright” and “Can’t Erase It” got stuck in my mind and wouldn’t let go.  and the first single “Unforgetful You” had everybody wondering…what’s he saying? ( I think it’s “I want to know why”)

check the lyrics to this song.

“Unforgetful You” by Charlie Lowell, Dan Haseltine, Matt Odmark, & Stephen Mason

I never minded calling You a King 
If that meant that I could count on You 
To give me everything 
I never thought to ask You 
I always thought You knew 
It was never my intention to question You   

You never minded calling me a child 
Well, I guess that’s how I acted all the while 
But You live through every tantrum, You see through every lie 
Though they seem to be more common 
I just wanted You to know why oh why 

Unforgetful You, unforgetful 
Unforgetful You, so unforgetful 

You never minded giving us the stars 
Then showing us how blind and unaware of You we are 
You painted me a picture and showed me how to see 
Though I just won’t behold it 
Unless it pertains to me… 

and enjoy the video.

Leave a Reply

