a few thoughts…


consume2

Consume-

–verb (used with object)

1. to destroy or expend by use; use up.

 

2. to eat or drink up; devour.

 

3. to destroy, as by decomposition or burning: Fire consumed the forest.

 

4. to spend (money, time, etc.) wastefully.

 

5. to absorb; engross: consumed with curiosity.

 

I’ve been pondering that word lately.  I guess that for me, definitions 3 and 4 would describe my life pretty accurately.  I’m caught up in things that really don’t make a difference or aren’t building kingdom.  I’m distracted and “engrossed” in things other than pursuing the Glory of God. 

The things that consume me aren’t destructive in themselves (I’m a huge college football fan), but when they begin to take large chunks of my time and effort, then they can become just that.  When the things that consume me dictate my attitude or my day, then I am choosing a path that I really don’t want to walk.

The bible is very clear in Exodus 20:3-6

3 “You shall have no other gods before me.

 4 “You shall not make for yourself an idol in the form of anything in heaven above or on the earth beneath or in the waters below. 5 You shall not bow down to them or worship them; for I, the LORD your God, am a jealous God, punishing the children for the sin of the fathers to the third and fourth generation of those who hate me, 6 but showing love to a thousand {generations} of those who love me and keep my commandments.

When I let things consume my time and energy in God’s place or above Him, then I have made for myself an Idol.  It may not be a “graven image” but I can certainly worship there.

We live in a consumer driven society.  We consume more than any other nation in the world, and we have let that creep into our lives ever so quietly.  We worship so many other things, we are consumed by our jobs, school, our calendars.  We worship at the stadium and the mall.  We are consumed by things that are fleeting pleasures and don’t realize how much time and energy is wasted.  Of course when I say “we” I mean I.  I do those things.  I’m the one who is being consumed.

Let’s take some time this week to focus on the amazing greatness of our loving God.  Let’s take the time to be consumed for His kingdom.  Is there something that we could do without this week to help our brothers and sisters in Christ?

I’ll close with a quote by C.S. Lewis that sums this up for me.

“Indeed, if we consider the unblushing promises of reward and the staggering nature of the rewards promised in the Gospels, it would seem that Our Lord finds our desires, not too strong, but too weak. We are half-hearted creatures, fooling about with drink and sex and ambition when infinite joy is offered us, like an ignorant child who wants to go on making mud pies in a slum because he cannot imagine what is meant by the offer of a holiday at the sea. We are far too easily pleased.”  from The Weight of Glory

One comment

Leave a Reply

