i was typing an article for the newsletter…


and had iTunes running on shuffle when this song came up.

i love, love, love Gateway Church in Southlake.  i had the opportunity to get to know the worship team there when we lived up in DFW.  they had a once a month worship leader luncheon where the staff would pour into all of us that showed up.   we would have lunch, sing and there would be teaching.  this was so important to the worship staff that they all would come if they were in town,  even Kari Jobe who is very busy would come when she wasn’t traveling, and very actively participate.  i got to lead worship one time at a lunch and i was closing my eyes as i led and when i opened them, Kari was standing about 3 feet away from me.  she had come in as we started to sing.  it’s neat to have amazing worship leaders sing with you.

i write all of that to say that the author of this song Zach Neese became a mentor to me.  i can still email him or even call and talk to him.  he isn’t too busy or too important to talk to and pour into this worship leader from a smaller church.  so i guess when i hear this song or any other that Zach wrote, they have some special significance because i know where they come from.

God of My Days

You awaken my heart
From slumbering
Meet me in mourning
And you speak to my grief

You’re the light in my darkness
The delight of my eyes
The hope of the daybreak
When the sun’s slow to rise

(Chorus)
I trust that every moment’s in your hands
You’re the God of my days
The King of my nights
Lord of my laughter
Sovereign in sorrow
You’re the Prince of my praise
The love of my life
You never leave me
You are faithful
God of my days

You unveil my eyes
Help me to see
The arms of my Father
Encircling me
You’re a constant companion
I am never alone
Your love is the banner
That’s leading me home

(Chorus)

My eyes are on You
My hope is in You
My faith is in You
My eyes are on You
My hope is in You
My faith is in You

Leave a Reply

