one of my favorite artists…


is a guy named Chris Rice

he’s most famous for “The Cartoon Song” but limiting him to that is like saying Bobby McFerrin’s greatest triumph is “Don’t Worry, Be Happy” (McFerrin wishes he had never recorded the song)

Chris is an amazing songwriter, and writes wonderful thought provoking songs.  i heard a story once about a girl singing one of Chris’s songs at a conference that John McArthur was speaking at.  She sang the song “Big Enough” and when she finished, McArthur got up to speak and rebuked the song saying, “He can assure everyone that God is there.” this story was relayed to me by a guy in a church we once attended who certainly thought he had all the answers.

i think that is what bugs me about “scholastic theology”.  in the search for truth, we gain knowledge which puffs us up with pride.  with that pride we begin to think we can know everything about God, and if we are prideful and know everything about God well then we certainly can’t have any doubt now, can we?  how is it that we have lost the awe and mystery of God.  even David, the man after God’s own heart questioned throughout the Psalms.  the disciples cut and run, would you call that doubt?  so i can’t possibly explain it all and i don’t think that Dr. McArthur really listened to the lyrics of the song becuase “God if you’re there” is only part of it, and taking lyrics out of context and quoting to make your point.  i’m glad that you are so sure of the workings of God and the universe Dr. McArthur.  your faith is certainly greater than mine, but sometimes i feel like David and other times i feel like Chris, but i “Figure He’s big enough”

Big Enough by Chris Rice

None of us knows and that makes it a mystery
If life is a comedy, then why all the tragedy
Three-and-a-half pounds of brain try to figure out
What this world is all about
And is there an eternity, is there an eternity?

God if You’re there I wish You’d show me
And God if You care then I need You to know me
I hope You don’t mind me askin’ the questions
But I figure You’re big enough
I figure You’re big enough

Lying on pillows we’re haunted and half-awake
Does anyone hear us pray, If I die before I wake
Then the morning comes and the mirror’s the other place
Where we wrestle face to face with the image of Deity
The image of Deity

God if You’re there I wish You’d show me
And God if You care then I need You to know me
I hope You don’t mind me askin’ the questions
But I figure You’re big enough
I figure You’re big enough

When I imagine the size of the universe
And I wonder what’s out past the edges
Then I discover inside me a space as big
And believe that I’m meant to be
Filled up with more than just questions

So, God if You’re there I wish You’d show me
And God if You care then I need You to know me
I hope You don’t mind me askin’ the questions
But I figure You’re big enough
I figure You’re big enough
‘Cause I am not big enough

Leave a Reply

