part of my writing process


is revisiting old songs that i’ve put on a back shelf or found in notebooks as i’m writing new stuff.

this one came to the surface today

Tell Me What You’re For-Chuck Harris 2008

vs1

i see your signs, i hear your words

it’s not what you say, it’s how i heard

and though you may have great intent

what i see and hear may not be what you meant

chorus1

so before you get all upset and mad

and tell me how people are so bad

before you go to bangin’ on that door

please don’t tell me what you’re against

just tell me what you’re for

vs2

my perception is my reality

and i don’t think all this negativity

will bring about the change that you desire

it will only feed more fuel into the fire

chorus2

so before you go ahead and build your fence

be sure that you don’t build at my expense

cause fences make it easy to ignore

please don’t tell me what you’re against

just tell me what you’re for.

of course it still needs maybe another transition or a bridge to tie it together, but still stands up as an idea even 3 years after i wrote the initial draft. song #2 for my record in the works. i’m beginning to develop the ideas.  you’re ideas would be helpful too.  please leave them in the comments.

Leave a Reply

