felt good to write….


Chains-Chuck Harris: June 2011

is it painful to continue to walk around in these chains?

do they chafe my ankles and wrists enough that i long for them to be gone?

or do they bring some modicum of comfort?

do i continue to allow them to bind me because i’m used to them?

because i can’t imagine life without them, or is it something else?

truly the only reason they’re still clasped to my appendages is because i continue to clamp them back on.

i pick them up. i turn the key. the key i still hold in my hand.

my freedom i hold, but i can’t seem to put it in the lock and let them fall.

they’ve become a part of my comfort.

but am i really comfortable, or am i just afraid?

2 comments

Leave a Reply

