too hurt…


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

in conversations over the past few weeks, i’ve had people tell me that i’m hurt deeply.  some of these people have known me for a while, some of these people are new to my life, and some have been acquaintances but have just been recently made aware of my story.  while i am thankful that people can identify with my story, unless they have walked with me from the beginning of the hurt, they have no idea how far i’ve come. a select few people who God placed in my life to walk through me with this would be the first to tell you how much different i am.  warranted, i have bad days. i have days where i go back to the wound because it’s a known place.  there are times when i will talk about what happened in a very negative light, and then ten minutes later, i will capture that and move on.  we all have bad days. even me.

what prompted me to write this post is a few interactions i had with people. it’s no secret that i love to be heavily involved with church and ministry.  i long to minister again not because it does anything for me, but because i’m called to it and the gifts and callings of God are irrevocable. i’m rambling, back to my point.  i had people tell me that i was too hurt or damaged to effectively minister to people….

now, i want to take a step back and see the truth in that.  i have been hurt. not just through the ending of my marriage, but a 5 year ordeal of the enemy with his boot on my throat kindof hurt.  every turn, every decision under attack.

listen friends, and listen close. I KNOW that satan does not want me to do anything remotely connected with God’s kingdom because he has attempted to take me out time and time again.   i mean if our pastors and church leaders have to be pain and hurt free to minister to pained, hurting people, then who is gonna be able to do that?  i don’t know anyone who is qualified, well anyone who is honest about their hurt.  if you are going to be effective for the kingdom, you WILL be attacked, just get ready.  and it sucks.  it sucks hard. it is some of the most intense pain that i have ever experienced, but God NEVER wastes a wound.  Romans 8:28 says it.

28 And we know that God causes everything to work together for the good of those who love God and are called according to his purpose for them.

that’s everything, not some things, not what He picks and chooses.  EVERYTHING!

now i’m not bashing anyone.  i know people are well meaning and have my best interests at heart.  i totally get that, but you are looking at this situation as i exit the tunnel.  yeah, there is still gonna be some junk on me, thank God, He’s still working to clean me up, but I will not back down or shirk from the calling He has given me.

so know that your leaders are not perfect, they struggle, they strive.  they get ugly emails every day from people who let their preferences get in the way of the reconciling work of Jesus Christ and guess what…..it HURTS. but they keep going because of the call. they keep going because of the hurt. they keep going because it’s what they were meant to do.

so don’t tell me that i’m too hurt to minister to people.  it’s because of the hurt that i am able to.

13 comments

    1. thanks brother, you inspire me daily to want to live that way. big smiles over here with church sarcasm and just general klampertisms. thanks for always keeping it real.

  1. As a rape survivor, I felt called to work as a volunteer for a rape crisis center BECAUSE I could identify with the feelings other survivors had. I don’t think hurt, pain, baggage or struggles make you less qualified or able to minister to others. I think it adds a human dimension that we all want in our ministers and religious leaders. I am so over the thought of putting our leaders on a pedestal because of their position. No one is perfect and to pretend otherwise makes me a skeptic before my bottom hits the pew. Authenticity rules.

    1. Denise, first thanks for sharing, and second, I’m so sorry that happened to you. I know that God uses you in those instances. thanks for sharing. praying that God can redeem all the mess that caused in your life.

  2. AWESOME! From one broken soul to another I applaud you for standing up and believing in your gift. Because brokenness IS a gift. A gift of mercy, grace, understanding, forgiveness and most of all gratitude. All of these we learn to extend to others as God has extended to us when pain and hurt come our way! Praying for your gift in ministry to be realized!!

  3. You are such a blessing to me. I love the gifts God has given you. One is your gift of writing. You give words such meaning and they come from your heart. Thank you for seeking to honor God with your life. I too believe that our hurts are to mold us to be able to be used and to understand others when they hurt. You are right, there is no one perfect except the Lord and what better way to heal than to minister to others because we love the Lord.

Leave a Reply

