my top 5


what are your top 5 worship songs? what are the songs that really speak to you when you sing to God? it could be a right now list, or an all-time list. these are mine.

5. Overtaken-Gateway Worship/Walker Beach & Zach Neese

this is a powerful song for me. it was one of the first times that i was exposed to the songwriting of Zach Neese. he has been a great voice and mentor in my own worship life. funny thing is when i’ve introduced this as a congregational song, it has always fallen a little flat.

4. How He Loves-John Mark McMillan

i remember the first time i heard this song, and i wept. for the record, i love the lyric “sloppy wet kiss”, but that’s not the focal point of the song. it all leads to “i don’t have time to maintain these regrets when i think about the way He loves us.”

3. You Bled-Rend Collective Experiment

i was first introduced to Rend Collective at recreate10. i found myself just weeping at this video because it’s such a beautiful depiction of Christ in that little boy. it has fast become one of my favorite songs, and is powerful when sung in a corporate setting.

2. Beautiful Things-Gungor

again, thanks to the recreate conference i got to hear Gungor debut their album “Beautiful Things”. honestly one of the most holy moments i’ve ever experienced in my life. the passion with which each song was presented and the heart behind them made me play this CD in my car for 5 months straight. i love every song on this record, but the title track was so healing for my life. for a stretch of 2011 i couldn’t sing it because i didn’t believe it, but that has changed. He makes all things new.

1. O Praise Him (All This For A King) David Crower Band*

i don’t know what to say about this song. i tear up just thinking about it. it is my heart’s cry. i thank David for writing it. as well as being my #1 worship song, it is my #1 song period. the lyric that says “it’s the sound of salvation come, the sound of rescued ones” might be the most meaningful lyric i’ve had the pleasure to sing. all this for a King.

so what are your favorites? tell me in the comments.

One comment

  1. Good ones brother. I will always turn my attention upward with: 5) Amazing Love, How can it be. 4) Amazing Grace, my chains are gone. 3)
    When I survey the Wondrous Cross. 2) Revelation Song. 1) How Can I Keep from singing Your Praise. Not many Redman’s, Tomlin’s and Smith’s I don’t like and help me Focus on Him…

Leave a Reply

